Fuse disappears on reboot

I am new to Fuse and the community. I hope that someone can please help me with this issue.

Every time I reboot my computer, Fuse disappears and I have to reinstall it.

Background: I downloaded and installed Fuse last week on a computer running Windows 8.1, but when I realized that I forgot to install as Administrator, I reinstalled as Administrator without an uninstall, thinking that Fuse would automatically uninstall.

When I rebooted my computer, Fuse was completely gone:

file

I reinstalled again as administrator. I then updated my operating system (which rebooted my computer), and after the update, the Fuse dashboard was still there, but the rest of Fuse was gone.

This time, I uninstalled and reinstalled Fuse. Since then, I have rebooted my computer a few times, and every time, the dashboard remains but Fuse is gone and I have to reinstall it. Other than than, it seems to work fine once installed.

Thanks in advance!

Hi, do you have any anti-virus software installed?

Yes. I had disabled it for the first install, but not subsequent ones…

Which software are you using?

ESET NOD32 Antivirus version 9.0.381

Hi Emil,

I tried installing the new Fuse update, version 0.27.1, with my antivirus deactivated to see if that would resolve the problem. Unfortunately, I am still having the same problem. When I rebooted after the 0.27.1 install, not even the dashboard remained. Everything was gone. Shortcuts remained with dead links. Shell gone, everything.

Is there a way that you can resolve the issue?

Thanks in advance!

This doesn’t really sound like it’s related to Fuse to be honest (though it could be). Just to clarify: you have a user with administrator rights, and you’re not running Fuse on a company computer that might be part of any sort of reset/auto re-imaging happening on reboot? I’ve seen Windows-installations that reset to a certain state (or restore point) upon reboot. It kinda sounds like that’s what might be happening here.