What does it take to get started with Firebase?

I’m kinda new to Fuse and trying to implement Firebase in my Fuse app. I’ve done a search on the forum and came to find the following (interesting) resources:

1. Fuse.Firebase - Fuse.Firebase
  2. fuse-firebase-js - fuse-firebase-js

The first one seems to have implemented the iOS and Android SDK. I didn’t try this one since it’s currently lacking documentation on realtime data-binding. The second one has implemented the Web SDK. I did try this one but I got stuck at errors where certain modules from the firebase node package cannot be found.

So here is where I’m in the dark: Is it potentially possible to ‘just’ load the firebase npm package and use the Web SDK inside the UX-files? Or will that never work and should I rely on the native SDK using something like Fuse.Firebase?

Fuse.Firebase is the way to go. If you have particular issues with it, please describe them as best you can and we’ll get you going. “lacking documentation on realtime data-binding” is not much to go on with, you’ll need to be more specific (have you read about Observables in Fuse?).

As for using npm modules in Fuse, the answer in most cases is it depends. If the module relies on being run either in a browser or in node environment, then it most likely won’t work with Fuse as-is.

Hi Uldis,

Yes I’ve read about Fuse Obervables. What I mean by lacking documentation is that I can’t find examples or docs on basic event bindings like the native equivalents of child_added, child_removed etc. with Fuse.Firebase. How does that work?

With JS I probably would have done something like this:

var Observable = require("FuseJS/Observable");
var data = Observable();
var items = []

firebase.database().ref('/users').on('child_added', snapshot => {
  items.push(snapshot.val())
  data.replaceAll(items)
})

But I have no clue on how to approach something similar with Fuse.Firebase.

Dear maartendings,