The Backend

So I am fairly new to app development, but I would say my app is near completition in terms of the functionality of it; but now comes the point where all the data is stored, like user posts, user information, and so forth. I have no idea how the backend really works or how to incorporates with fuse. When I think of a service with a backend, the first that comes to mind is Facebook and their large database of users and so forth. If I was to use a service like AWS S3, am I just going to be creating JSON files that I’ll be fetching and going through? I don’t really understand how the backend works in actual terms other than the fact that it is what is hosting all the data. So if anyone could elaborate on how to incorporate a backend to an app in an explanation I’d greatly apperciate it, or link me to a video or tutorial about it; because I was reading documentationt on the docs about fetching an http and the example of Amazon’s S3 service, and I don’t know if those two things go hand at hand or are two completely entities?

Edit: After doing a little bit of research and reading, I feel mangoDB may suit my needs for this. Does anyone know how I would go about linking mangoDB to my app, would it just be through a fetch()? If someone could link me to documentation or an example I’d greatly apperciate it :slight_smile:

Thanks in Advance,

• Andrew

Hi!

There are many ways you could go about doing a backend for your app, but in almost any case you would end up accessing it using fetch or the more “low level” XMLHttpRequest. It is common to get the data as JSON, but this is totally up to you. The nice thing about getting it as JSON is that you don’t have to worry about parsing it (since this is already implemented for you). I’m very far from an expert on the topic of backends, but i’ve used Parse and Firebase in the past, and that has worked out OK for smaller projects.