ES6 Router Parameter

I am new to Fuse and just getting started with the Hike tutorial. I have fully committed to ES6 and a lot of the NPM modules I use are based on the new language. Therefore it would be ideal to use it with FuseTools! I have already setup my build environment based on bundling with rollup.

However, I am struggling to figure out how to pass Router Parameters as I am receiving the error that “this.Parameter” is not defined. Has anyone done this before, or is there an alternative way to access the Parameter Observable?

Hi! That repository is very much outdated (I was actually planning on removing it at some point), and is something I hacked together a while ago since Fuse didn’t have proper support for require() at the time.

The problem with rollup is that it bundles everything into a single module. This approach works well for the web, where you want to reduce the number of HTTP requests, and imports can be resolved at transpile-time.

In Fuse however, we don’t have the problem that module bundlers like rollup are trying to solve, as there’s virtually no overhead for requiring a JavaScript module (no HTTP request needed).
Also, Fuse itself needs to be in charge of what happens when require() is called, and so you’re better off just using babel directly.

Now, the problem you’re having with this.Parameter is because of a small detail in the es2015 preset for babel which makes it replace any top-level this reference with undefined. I already have written a babel preset for this, but it seems to have broken since I wrote it.

Anyway, I have tried the following, and it seems to work.

1. Install dependencies:
$ npm install --save-dev babel-preset-es2015 babel-plugin-transform-es2015-modules-commonjs
$ npm install --global babel-cli
  1. Create a .babelrc file in the same folder as your package.json:
{
	"presets": [
		["es2015", { "modules": false }]
	],
	"plugins": [
		["transform-es2015-modules-commonjs", {
			"allowTopLevelThis": true
		}]
	]
}