Need help with using javascript to "Flip" a coin

Hello, I am very new to Fuse, and I am loving what I have been able to do so far.

I am familiarizing myself with Fuse by creating a simple app that will essentially flip a coin. By this I mean, tap a circle and the text inside will say either “Heads” or “Tails”

After reading through a lot of examples and documentation, I thought I knew how it should be done, but the result I got was not what I expected.

Here is the relevant code:

<Page ux:Name="page1" Background="#04E762">
                <Text Alignment="TopCenter" TextColor="#FFF" FontSize="64" Margin="20, 20, 20, 20" Value="Flip Coin"/>
                <JavaScript>
                    function flipCoin(e) {
                        if (Math.random() < 0.5) {
                            return "Heads"
                        } else {
                            return "False"
                        }
                    }

module.exports = {
                        FlipCoin: flipCoin
                    };
                </JavaScript>
                   <Text ux:Name="coin_value" TextColor="#04E762" Alignment="Center" FontSize="42" TextWrapping="Wrap" Value="Tap To Flip"/>
                <Circle ux:Name="coin_circle" Fill="#FFFF" Width="80%">
                    <Tapped>
                        <Set Target="coin_value.Value" Value="{FlipCoin}"/>
                    </Tapped>
                </Circle>
                <WhileInactive>
                    <Set coin_value.Value="Tap To Flip"/>
                </WhileInactive>
             </Page>

The resulting behavior of the above code is for the text on top of the circle to change to “Fuse.Reactive.AsyncFunction” I assume I am missing something in how to integrate JavaScript code, but I can’t figure out what.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Hi, it seems you end up displaying the type of the export rather than the return value of it. :slight_smile:

Try this instead:

<JavaScript>