Functional Programming failure in Fuse: Observable passing unwanted arguments to function

Hi All!

I am new to Fuse, mobile app development, and now most recently to Functional Programming. I started coding my first Fuse app in a procedural style, but attempted to rewrite my code using FP principles. I am finding this extra tricky regarding data-bound Observables.

I am curious how many in the community are using FP in their Fuse apps, and just how successful implementations of FP in JavaScript can be. There seem to be very contrary opinions on this subject. Is it worth the trouble, or is FP better left to languages that fully support FP?

Some background on the app: I coded a TextInput for the user to type text. This input is combined with other data such as api key to form the url that is passed to a fetch function. At first all this was done inside one function or procedure, and triggered by the “ValueChanged” event of the Observable.

I made the Value of the TextInput a global, exported, Observable variable, and when the ValueChanged event triggered the function, it would concatenate the url string using the global Observable TextInput Value variable and then fetch the data. This is a FP no-no, as the data was not fed into the function via its arguments.

Some of the FP principles I tried to implement are avoiding side-effects and passing all data into functions through their arguments. So I moved all the api parameters into an Array object variable and created functions using filter, map, and reduce to turn it into the url string. Then I created a separate function for the fetch and am stuck on how to pass the url as an argument. The function is triggered by ValueChanged, which seems by default to pass the TextInput Value as the argument.