Font size as a percentage

It would be great if we could have a font size based percentage of a parent that would be great, this will allow us to have more control over the size of multiple platforms

Can you provide a use-case demonstrating what you want? There are several potential ways that relative font sizes could be provided and I want to make sure I understand what mode you want.

Sure so let’s say I have a rectangle with a width of 50% and a height of 50% that means I’ll have a square that’s 50% of the screen.

It would be great if I could do fontsize=“50%” so that the font will be 50% of the screen and then there would be no resizing issues with different devices

Wouldn’t FontSize be 50% of the parent element, not the screen?

I won’t comment on the feasibility of this feature, but I’ll add that in my role as an interactive designer I have never ever felt the need for this feature. :slight_smile:

Also: percentage of what? A percentage only makes sense if you first define a scale (like, what 100% or 1% is). See the releated discussion on font percentages in CSS on StackOverflow. Not trying to rain on the suggestion, it’s just that I think that what you’re trying to achieve can be achieved already with the existing panel-in-panel architecture, and it’ll be more performant as well. Or put differently: my scary edge-case spider-sense is tingling. :slight_smile:

Since I’m assuming this is primarily used for visual impact, like headers, or short labels, you can also stretch text to another element (even it’s parent element).

<Panel Width="50%" Height="50%" Alignment="Center" ux:Name="target">
   <Text Layer="Overlay" Alignment="Center" FontSize="128" Value="Big Label">
       <Scaling RelativeTo="SizeFactor"  RelativeNode="target"/>
   </Text>
</Panel>

Thank you all for responding,

EDA unfortuatently that doesn’t accomplish what I am trying to do, here is a video of what I am talking about.

<Rectangle Alignment="Center" Width="30%" Height="15%">