Basic Transitions

Hello, I am trying to find a basic step-by-step info on how to tweak the default transition to go in another direction when a certain button is clicked. In other words, I have a main page and when the button on the right is clicked, the transition moves the main page to the left and the new page enters from the right. This is the default. However, I also have a button on the left and would like the transition to move in the opposite direction.
I have read and played around with the info in the Navigation and Transition portions of the documentation. I have also tried to pull info from the Transitions example given, but the code for the example is all in one file and has many more complex operations going on that makes it hard for me to parse what is needed for my situation.
Sorry, I am very new to all this! Most of the examples given are to make major changes and I just want to make it go in different directions, left, right, up, and down.

Hi Audrey,

the docs on Transitions and the example are the right place for solving all navigation-transition troubles. This indeed is a quite complex concept, sp you will simply need to sit down and study the docs and example carefully.

The absolutely best place to start though is the intro to custom animations/transitions. If you get a good grasp on that, the docs and that complex example won’t appear as bad as it does right now.

As for what you’re specifically trying to do - the transition to right and then to left - sounds like a default thing in both directions in two cases:

1. If you use a Navigator and call a router.push(), the new page transitions in from the right. If you then call router.goBack(), the pushed page will transition to the right.
  2. If you use a PageControl, the page order is implicitly left and right. So as you swipe or navigate from JavaScript, the pages will transition from left to right, as expected.

Hope this helps!

Thanks for your reply!